Passionate Advocates Guiding You Through Difficult Times

Types of alimony available in Tennessee

On Behalf of | Mar 11, 2024 | Family Law

Alimony, also known as spousal support, is a common aspect of divorce proceedings. It seeks to provide financial support to a spouse who may face economic struggles post-divorce.

In Tennessee, the court recognizes several types of alimony. Each serves a different purpose and addresses various financial needs. Understanding the different types of alimony is helpful for anyone navigating divorce proceedings and seeking financial stability post-divorce.

1. Transitional alimony

Transitional alimony assists a spouse in adjusting to the financial realities of post-divorce life. It typically continues for a specific period, allowing the recipient to pursue education, training or employment opportunities to become self-sufficient. Transitional alimony does not necessarily consider the recipient’s financial need. Instead, it aims to facilitate a smoother transition to single life.

2. Rehabilitative alimony

Rehabilitative alimony is similar to transitional alimony but focuses on supporting a spouse while they undergo rehabilitation or retraining to reenter the workforce. This type of alimony may be available when one spouse sacrifices career opportunities for the benefit of the marriage and needs financial help to regain independence.

3. Alimony in futuro

Alimony in futuro, or periodic alimony, is possible when one spouse requires ongoing financial support after the divorce. It may come into play when the receiving spouse cannot achieve self-sufficiency due to age, health or lack of marketable skills. Alimony in futuro may continue until specific circumstances change, such as the recipient’s remarriage or death.

By familiarizing themselves with the forms of alimony and how and when they might apply, divorcing parties can better advocate for their financial interests and move forward with confidence toward a brighter financial future.